2018 Hall of Fame Inductees

2018 Hall of Fame Inductees

Inductees named for 2018 GCC Hall of Fame 

      Alex Sarkissian, Dr. Deb Rinder, Tye Veden, Ray Calame, Bob MacKay and the 1986 Football Team will be inducted into the Glendale Community College Athletic Hall of Fame. Bruce Corbin will be honored with the Community Partnership award. The 16th annual banquet and induction ceremony will take place Sunday October 21, 2018 on campus.

     Alex Sarkissian won the state championship in men’s tennis in 2011 as well as the Ojai Invitational Titles in singles and doubles and was 35-0 in singles that year. He advanced to the NCAA Singles Finals in 2013 for Pepperdine University and is currently ranked No. 306 on the pro tour. Dr. Deb Rinder was a pioneer in girls’ athletics in Glendale as she wasthe first female to play boys Little League in 1975. She was a standout basketball and softball player at Glendale High and also played basketball at GCC and at San Diego State. Tye Veden was amongst the first board members for the Glendale College foundation when it was established in 1983 and was part of many campus projects including the formation of the El Vaquero Racket Club and was the first Chairman of the GCC Athletic Hall of Fame in 2001. Bob MacKay was a tremendous athlete at GCC in the early 1960’s and was named the intramural athlete of the year. He was the Head Tennis Pro for the El Vaquero Racket Club from 1991-2017 and was also the Head Coach of the Men’s Tennis Team from 2002-2017. Ray Calame played basketball at Glendale for two years from 1963-65 under Hall of Fame Coach Ray Calame. He was worked at the Glendale YMCA for over 40 years as a youth basketball coach and as the director of the successful Camp Fox Program. The 1986 Football Team was coached by Hall of Famer Jim Sartoris and was ranked No. 1 in the nation for most of the season and is considered one of the best teams ever at GCC.


2018 GCC Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees

Bruce Corbin-Community Partnership Award

Alex Sarkissian -Outstanding Athlete

Dr. Deb Rinder-Outstanding Athlete

Tye Veden-Meritorious Service

Bob MacKay-Outstanding Coach

Ray Calame-Pillar of Achievement

1986 Football Team-Outstanding Team